R and R… and R….. and um… R

by crashieuk

R & R & R & R & Arrrrr (oops, no that’s a pirate!)

Rest, relaxation, recovery and recuperation. I’m 6 days into a self-imposed running break due to knee/ankle pain. Tomorrow can’t really come soon enough as I should be in a condition to go back out running again and the signs are good so far.

It’s very annoying now that I can’t run, when I’ve actually got used to running and have been getting some enjoyment out of it. I was told on the Sunday to take a week out but after icing knee and ankle and taking it easy, it felt fine on the Monday and I then managed a poor 5mins before breaking down – that will teach me not to listen to someone who really does genuinely know better than me. See? I can admit it! I’m an idiot and I should have listened. 😉

So for the last week I’ve done regular walking which has been fine, but no running whatsoever. I decreased the goal on the Fitbit down from 8,000 to 5,000 daily steps. Looking back through it I’ve been around that but mostly under, so while I’ll admit I’ve been taking it easier than normal, all of that is still being more active than I was 3 months ago, and that’s the only thing that’s really important now.

I completed the 3 months non-smoking and I was officially signed off at the “quit clinic” at the doctors on Thursday. Reason: “non-smoker”. I like the sound of that. 🙂

The diet has remained pretty healthy for the full week – I’ve not had any down moments where I’ve succumbed to a perk-me-up from Mr Ben or Mr Jerry, so I’m pleased with that. I’ve taken the week as a week’s break from running and nothing more than that – and I’m doing it because I want to get back to running, not because I’ve given it up. That’s key for me.

As for running tomorrow, I currently have no knee/ankle pain and have felt nothing at all from there in the last few days, so I think I’ll be good to go. Now I’m not going to be doing anything as stupid as throwing myself straight back into a 5k. That can wait for now, and all that’s important to me is achieving the goals I’ve set myself and being happy with my own progression.

So the 5k itself will arrive in its own time – I think tomorrow I’ll step back into a 20mins run and just see how I feel. I know that after injury you can often come back stronger, so I’m looking forward to seeing if that theory holds true. If I run for 20mins and still feel comfortable, then I might run for another 5, but I might not – I’m just going to see how I feel tomorrow.

Chances are that with me being on a 10-6 shift tomorrow, that I’ll go for putting the run in early morning before work, and I’ve also made the decision that I’m going back to grass running and staying off the paths and roads until such time as I’ve built up some confidence again as that was how/where I got injured.

There’s also the danger of shit surfaces around here with pavements, roads and kerbs in a pretty poor state of repair. I remember it taking over 2 years of weekly emails to the council to get a pothole repaired. Now I just don’t bother any more, which I guess is what they really want…

So I’ll do the run in the morning and reward myself with the penultimate episode of Breaking Bad.

Aha! Now I have 2 things to look forward to.

